MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
Q&A 46 - infections on an anti-CD20
0:00
-17:31

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of MS-Selfie

Q&A 46 - infections on an anti-CD20

My IgM and IgA immunoglobulin levels are slightly low, but my IgG levels are normal. I am concerned about these infections. Would you recommend I stop ocrelizumab?
23

Case study

Q1: Professor Giovannoni, I am 62 years of age, and I have ‘relapsing’ multiple sclerosis. I have been on ocrelizumab for five years and have not had a relapse since starting. My MRI scans are also stable. I am slowly getting worse in that my walking has deteriorated. I can manage about 800m before I have to stop for a rest. My biggest concern is that in the last 12 months, I have had three chest infections, one of which was a lobar pneumonia that required admission to the hospital for intravenous antibiotics. My IgM and IgA immunoglobulin levels are slightly low, but my IgG levels are normal. I am concerned about these infections. Would you recommend I stop ocrelizumab? If so, which DMT would you recommend? Thank you.

xray
Right upper lobe or lobar pneumonia


NOTE: General substack newsletters and microsite are free; only Q&A sessions are restricted to paying subscribers. I can't run and maintain the MS-Selfie microsite, hence the need to pay people to help me do the work. If people want to ask medical questions unrelated to the Newsletters or Podcasts, they either need to become paying subscribers or email (ms-selfie@giovannoni.net) to request a complimentary subscription.

Prof G’s answer

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to MS-Selfie to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie is a self-help resource for people with multiple sclerosis