MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
Q&A 34: ofatumumab and urinary tract infections
0:00
-12:18

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of MS-Selfie

Q&A 34: ofatumumab and urinary tract infections

Is there any chance that ofatumumab (Kesimpta) causes UTIs via a pathway other than immune system depletion? When will ofatumumab 'wash out'?
20

Case study and questions

I have SPMS, but my neurologist put me on ofatumumab (Kesimpta). Neither of us expected much good from it, so when I started getting recurrent and severe UTIs after three months, i.e. five infections in two months, we agreed that I should discontinue it. My GP has subsequently put me on prophylactic nitrofurantoin (50mg a day), which appears to have prevented any more infections while my immune system recovers. The plan is to stop the nitrofurantoin after four months. But I'm getting bad indigestion and very uncomfortable after every meal. Is this a common side-effect of nitrofurantoin?

Is there any chance that ofatumumab (Kesimpta) causes UTIs via a pathway other than immune system depletion? When will it 'wash out'? When can I stop taking nitrofurantoin? My GP raised this question. I could try stopping it, but I don't want to start getting UTIs again suddenly. I only have one kidney and need to protect it.

NOTE: General substack newsletters and microsite are free; only Q&A sessions are restricted to paying subscribers. I can't run and maintain the MS-Selfie microsite, hence the need to pay people to help me do the work. If people want to ask medical questions unrelated to the Newsletters or Podcasts, they either need to become paying subscribers or email (ms-selfie@giovannoni.net) to request a complimentary subscription.

For clarity, I have deconstructed your case into five parts, which I will address separately.

Part 1: I have SPMS, but my neurologist put me on ofatumumab (Kesimpta). Neither of us expected much good from it, so when I started getting recurrent and severe UTIs after three months, i.e. five infections in two months, we agreed that I should discontinue it.

Part 2: My GP has subsequently put me on prophylactic nitrofurantoin (50mg a day), which appears to have prevented any more infections while my immune system recovers. The plan is to stop the nitrofurantoin after four months. But I'm getting bad indigestion and very uncomfortable after every meal. Is this a common side-effect of nitrofurantoin?

Part 3: Is there any chance that ofatumumab (Kesimpta) causes UTIs via a pathway other than immune system depletion? 

Part 4: When will ofatumumab 'wash out'? 

Part 5: When can I stop taking nitrofurantoin? My GP raised this question. I could try stopping it, but I don't want to start getting UTIs again suddenly. I only have one kidney and need to protect it.

Answers

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to MS-Selfie to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie is a self-help resource for people with multiple sclerosis