MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
Q&A 27: brain reserve, trigonitis and Raynaud's phenomenon
0:00
-13:46

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of MS-Selfie

Q&A 27: brain reserve, trigonitis and Raynaud's phenomenon

I had a serious RTA and shattered my pelvis; will this make my MS progressive? I have just been diagnosed with trigonitis; is this due to MS? Does MS cause Raynaud's phenomenon?
27

Questions

Q1: I had a serious RTA and shattered my pelvis. My EDSS was only 1.0 before the accident due to bladder urgency. I had no other physical problems. Along with the fractured pelvis, I sustained soft tissue injuries and a rib fracture with a collapsed lung, would this recovery eat into the reserve that we have to recover from our relapses? Will it run out sooner and lead to me developing SPMS earlier? 

Q2: I am 43 and have had MS for 21 years. I intermittently catheterise 4 to 5 times a day. I get recurrent infections and have just had a cystoscopy and been diagnosed with trigonitis. What is this, and is it related to MS? 

Q3:  My toes frequently go black (particularly two on my left foot, but it can be all). This is unrelated to temperature or being cold. I had cellulitis from a heel blister last summer. My family doctor was alarmed by my black toes and requested a Doppler ultrasound, which was normal, i.e. there was nothing wrong with the arterial blood supply. On review, the second family doctor explained that in his experience with MS patients, this problem is due to poor microcirculation caused by autonomic failings. Please help me understand this.

NOTE: General substack newsletters and microsite are free; only Q&A sessions are restricted to paying subscribers. I can't run and maintain the MS-Selfie microsite, hence the need to pay people to help me do the work. If people want to ask medical questions unrelated to the Newsletters or Podcasts, they either need to become paying subscribers or email (ms-selfie@giovannoni.net) to request a complimentary subscription.

Answers

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to MS-Selfie to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie is a self-help resource for people with multiple sclerosis