MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
Q&A 22 - smouldering MS on ocrelizumab
0:00
-16:02

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of MS-Selfie

Q&A 22 - smouldering MS on ocrelizumab

I have put this gradual worsening down to ageing. Could it be smouldering MS? Is there anything that can be done about smouldering MS?
25

Question

Q: I am a 58-year-old woman who has been on ocrelizumab for close to 4 years. I was previously on dimethyl fumarate for several years before asking to be escalated to ocrelizumab. My last MRI of the brain was stable, but a lesion in the lower cervical cord is reported to have enlarged with some shrinking of the spinal cord below the lesion. My physical functioning may be slightly worse regarding my walking distance and exercise tolerance. I estimate my EDSS to be 3.5. I have put this gradual worsening down to ageing. Could it be smouldering MS? Is there anything that can be done about smouldering MS? Thank you. 

NOTE: General substack newsletters and microsite are free; only Q&A sessions are restricted to paying subscribers. I can't run and maintain the MS-Selfie microsite, hence the need to pay people to help do the work for me. If people want to ask medical questions unrelated to the Newsletters or Podcasts, they either need to become paying subscribers or email (ms-selfie@giovannoni.net) to request a complimentary subscription.

Answers

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to MS-Selfie to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie is a self-help resource for people with multiple sclerosis