MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
Q&A-18: an equivocal new lesion
0:00
-14:39

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of MS-Selfie

Q&A-18: an equivocal new lesion

Facial twitching; could this be MS? Thyroid cancer; can I restart natalizumab? An equivocal new lesion on ocrelizumab; should I switch? Measles and rubella seronegative; should I have a booster?
30

Questions

Q1: My daughter has just had her 28th birthday and complains of intermittent twitching above her right eye. I was diagnosed 21 years ago and have had eye twitching in the past. Could this be the initial manifestation of MS in my daughter? What should I do? 

Q2: I have MS and have been on natalizumab for close to 1 year. I have recently been diagnosed with thyroid cancer and have had surgery in which the left side of my thyroid was removed. Which MS treatments are compatible with cancer? Will I be able to restart natalizumab? 

Q3: I am 59 years of age and have been on ocrelizumab for four years. My latest MRI shows an equivocal new lesion. I think my MS is stable, with a possibility of some age-related slowing down. What is an equivocal lesion? Should I escalate my treatment? 

Q4: I am due to start ofatumumab in the next few weeks, but my neurologist checked my MMR (mumps, measles and rubella) status, and I only have antibodies to mumps. I have been told to get an MMR booster. Would you recommend this? 

Think measles! - Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust

NOTE: General substack newsletters and microsite are free; only Q&A sessions are restricted to paying subscribers. I can't run and maintain the MS-Selfie microsite, hence the need to pay people to help do the work for me. If people want to ask medical questions unrelated to the Newsletters or Podcasts, they either need to become paying subscribers or email (ms-selfie@giovannoni.net) to request a complimentary subscription.

Answers

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to MS-Selfie to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie is a self-help resource for people with multiple sclerosis