MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
Q&A 17 - beyond no evident inflammatory disease activity or NEIDA
0:00
-12:33

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of MS-Selfie

Q&A 17 - beyond no evident inflammatory disease activity or NEIDA

What should the future treatment target be for people with MS? Is it possible to have a blood neurofilament level done? Will measuring spinal fluid neurofilament level make a difference to my MS?
19

Questions

Dear Prof G

I am 33 years of age and have had MS for just over seven years. I was on dimethyl fumarate (Tecfidera) for four years and started ocrelizumab (Ocrevus) three years ago. Ocrelizumab has been very kind to me; I have tolerated it without infection. Since starting ocrelizumab, I have been relapse-free, and my annual MRI scans have been stable, but I am now getting worse. Over the last 18 months, my walking has deteriorated due to a right foot drop, and my bladder function is awful. My neurologist wants me to have a lumbar puncture to measure my spinal fluid neurofilament level before potentially offering me a more effective therapy. I don’t want to have a lumbar puncture.

Q1: Is it possible to have a blood neurofilament level done in the UK instead? 

Q2: Will measuring spinal fluid neurofilament level make a difference to my management? Thank you. 

NOTE: General substack newsletters and microsite are free; only Q&A sessions are restricted to paying subscribers. I can't run and maintain the MS-Selfie microsite, hence the need to pay people to help do the work for me. If people want to ask medical questions unrelated to the Newsletters or Podcasts, they either need to become paying subscribers or email (ms-selfie@giovannoni.net) to request a complimentary subscription.

Answers

Beyond NEIDA - triangulating the MS treatment target

Q1: Is it possible to have a blood neurofilament level done in the UK instead?

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to MS-Selfie to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie is a self-help resource for people with multiple sclerosis