MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
Q&A 14 - MS-Selfie
0:00
-24:25

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of MS-Selfie

Q&A 14 - MS-Selfie

Can diet and lifestyle effectively 'beat' MS? Can an EBV anti-viral be used in people already with MS? How long are anti-CD20 therapies safe for people with MS?
46

Questions

Q1:  I was diagnosed with MS at age 29. Immediately after I was diagnosed, I went deep into the OMS (Overcoming MS) program. I have had MS for 12 years now and was virtually symptom-free for 10 years. I know a diet and lifestyle change is not sufficient in fighting MS, but I met Dr Jelinek and tons of others who follow the OMS program, who beat their MS without DMTs. But over the last 2 years, my MS has returned. I now struggle to walk for longer than 15 min. I don't want to take DMTs. I am planning to get HSCT in 6 months. Do you think the OMS program would help my recovery after HSCT? Do you see any reasons why it would have a negative effect? In your opinion, can diet and lifestyle effectively 'beat' MS? I know it's an open-ended question, but being in the OMS community, I get to see so many success stories. What do you think?

Q2: If an EBV anti-viral is discovered, could it be used in people already with MS?

Q3: Anti-CD20s - do neurologists know how long it is safe for people with MS to be on them with continued B-cell depletion?

NOTE: General substack newsletters and microsite are free; it is only Q&A sessions that are restricted to paying subscribers. I can't run and maintain the MS-Selfie microsite, hence the need to pay people to help do the work for me. If people want to ask medical questions unrelated to the Newsletters or Podcasts, they either need to become paying subscribers or email (ms-selfie@giovannoni.net) to request a complimentary subscription.

Answers

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to MS-Selfie to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie is a self-help resource for people with multiple sclerosis