MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
Q&A 38 - to take aciclovir or not
0:00
-13:44

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of MS-Selfie

Q&A 38 - to take aciclovir or not

Do the risks of taking a daily antiviral outweigh the benefits, or vice versa? My consultant is happy for my GP to prescribe it, so I would like to know your thoughts.
23

Questions

I was hoping you could answer a question regarding taking a daily preventative dose of 400mg once daily aciclovir for repeated bouts of HSV1 on the palate and gums. Since starting ocrelizumab (Ocrevus), I have had six bouts in approximately 7-8 months with no known trigger apart from the first, which was shortly after my COVID-19 and flu vaccines. This was my worst outbreak. I had never been aware of having herpes before starting ocrelizumab treatment. I had never had a cold sore as far as I was aware, and I also haven’t had them on my lips. 

I also have an altered sensation in my face- mainly prickling, which started ten days before the first marked eruption on my left palate- the sensation is worse on the left side of my face - cheek, corner of my lip and part of my chin. I have since had HSV1 on my right palate three times and on the gums and buccally twice. I have had an MRI to rule out a brainstem lesion.

Oral Herpes | SpringerLink

Is there a chance aciclovir, which is used to treat EBV, would help with my MS and prevent HSV1? I was also hopeful it might reduce the sensations in my face. I have been offered amitriptyline for this. However, I am reluctant as it will only mask my symptoms and not treat the cause. My GP has given me the option to take it. 

Do the risks of taking a daily antiviral outweigh the benefits, or vice versa? My consultant is happy for my GP to prescribe it, so I would like to know your thoughts. 

NOTE: General substack newsletters and microsite are free; only Q&A sessions are restricted to paying subscribers. I can't run and maintain the MS-Selfie microsite, hence the need to pay people to help me do the work. If people want to ask medical questions unrelated to the Newsletters or Podcasts, they either need to become paying subscribers or email (ms-selfie@giovannoni.net) to request a complimentary subscription.

Answers

Just so you know, this is a podcast, but you can also read the transcript. The transcript is done by AI and is not proofread or edited. Many readers find this helpful.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to MS-Selfie to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie is a self-help resource for people with multiple sclerosis