MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
Q&A 49 - recurrent UTIs, please help
0:00
-14:34

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of MS-Selfie

Q&A 49 - recurrent UTIs, please help

My urine was sent to the lab, but apart from red blood cells, it came back clear, i.e. with no bacterial growth. Is this common?
40

Case history 

Dear Prof G

I need help with my bladder. I was started on Trospium, which caused me to go into urinary retention. I needed to be catheterised and stop the trospium. I then developed symptoms of a urinary tract infection (UTI). My pharmacist prescribed nitrofurantoin, which cleared the symptoms for a few days. I was then prescribed methenamine (Hiprex), and my urine was sent to the lab, but apart from red blood cells, it came back clear, i.e. with no bacterial growth. My urinary dipstix always has ++ for blood; it has been like this for years.  I have persistent pressure-like pain in my pubic area and severe urinary frequency, which does not seem to respond to Betmiga. Is this something you see in your clinic? These problems are affecting my quality of life. What can I do? 

Thank

Ms X

NOTE: General substack newsletters and microsite are free; only Q&A sessions are restricted to paying subscribers. I can't run and maintain the MS-Selfie microsite, hence the need to pay people to help me do the work. If people want to ask medical questions unrelated to the Newsletters or Podcasts, they either need to become paying subscribers or email (ms-selfie@giovannoni.net) to request a complimentary subscription.

Prof G’s answer

Please listen to the podcast or read the AI-generated transcript. 

My previous newsletter on infections (29 June 2021) would also be helpful to solve this person’s problem.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to MS-Selfie to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie is a self-help resource for people with multiple sclerosis