MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
Q&A-29: semaglutide, cannabis and itching
0:00
-11:50

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of MS-Selfie

Q&A-29: semaglutide, cannabis and itching

Would you recommend I proceed with Wegovy, and will it affect my MS? Why can’t I get medicinal cannabis on the NHS? Can itching be due to MS?
3

Questions

Q1: I have relapsing MS, which is being treated with ocrelizumab. My problem is I am obese and have a BMI of 38. My insurance company will not pay for bariatric surgery or Wegovy (semaglutide) injections. I can pay for the Wegovy privately, but it will cost me $1,400/month. Would you recommend I go ahead with Wegovy, and will it affect my MS? 

Q2: If medicinal cannabis is legal in the UK, why can’t I get it on the NHS? 

Q3: I have developed generalised itching, particularly affecting my face, scalp and neck. Can this be due to MS? 

NOTE: General substack newsletters and microsite are free; only Q&A sessions are restricted to paying subscribers. I can't run and maintain the MS-Selfie microsite, hence the need to pay people to help me do the work. If people want to ask medical questions unrelated to the Newsletters or Podcasts, they either need to become paying subscribers or email (ms-selfie@giovannoni.net) to request a complimentary subscription.

Answers

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to MS-Selfie to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie
MS-Selfie is a self-help resource for people with multiple sclerosis